Radical Raw Life

Orange Tree

 

In the Garden of Eden:

"And God said, 'I give you every seed-bearing plant on the face of the earth, and every tree that has fruit with seed in it. They will be yours for food.'" ~Genesis 1:29 NIV

 

Products that Aren't Vegan

Dairy- all dairy products; milk, cheese, etc. Tricky words- casein, whey

Eggs- all types of eggs

Fish, Chicken, Pork, Beef, Any type of animal

Natural Flavorings- this could either be animal or plant based. It is best to contact the manufacturer if the product does not specifically say "Vegan" (or something similar) on it.

Enriched Foods- this can contain animal based sources of nutrients in supplement form of vitamin D-3. If you see D-3 listed as an ingredient it is NOT vegan.

Artifical Colorings/Flavors- many of these are harmful to health as well as potentially being derieved from animal sources.

Foods Dyed Red- Carmine, also know as Carminic Acid & Cochineal Extract, is a red dye made from ground up cochineal beetles. They eat prickly pears and other cacti. They then absorb and concentrate their bright red juices in their bodies.

Used In:
~Make-up & lipstick
~Candy & confections
~Baked goods
~Maraschino cherries
~Juices
~Spread

Gelatin- made form leftover bones, hooves, skin, tendons, and other miscellaneous parts that are boiled in water to release natural collagen. The extracted gelatin is formed into translucent sheets, strings or ground into a powder.

It's Uses:
~Thickening sauces, jellies, desserts
~Ice creams, marshmellows, & baked goods
~To clarify soups
~Some wines, beers, spirits
~Cosmetics
~Capsules for supplements
~Personal care products
~Everyday products

Cane Sugar- it is bleached using a special filtration process that cleanses away the nutty brown color and leaves a polished ivory-colored mass. It is often filtered through activated charcoal that comes from animal bones as well as plant sources.

Powdered & Brown Sugar- They also have been processed with bone char. Brown sugar is simply bleached cane sugar with some molasses added back into it. Powdered/confectioner sugar is bleached cane sugar that has been finely processed with cornstarch to prevent caking.

(Note: Brown/powdered sugar based on beet sugar or evaporated cane juice is suitable for vegans. Other names that ARE vegan: organic unbleached sugar, raw sugar, turinado sugar, demerara sugar, and beet sugar)

Honey- this is the regurgitation of the food bees eat. It is created for the bees to meet their own dietary needs as well as feeding the hive and sustaining the young. The production of a single bee over the course of a lifetime is 1/12 tsp! Each tablespoon of honey represents the life's work of 36 bees!

 

-Back to Main

 

 

Copyright 2015 Radical Raw Life. All Rights Reserved.
Site Designed and Developed by Maria R. Fisher. First Published 12/2012. Last Updated 1/2015.